You know it’s a close measure between two bowls when the marker can’t call it, the players can’t agree it and a string measure can’t determine it. This was what happened on the very last end of this year’s Ladies’ Singles Championship final. Sal Rayner clearly had shot but needed two for the win, while Chris Greenhatch was hoping that she held second shot in order to keep her hopes of a comeback alive. After a couple of unsuccessful attempts by the marker to measure for second shot the umpire was called. He duly arrived at the head with trammel and calipers in hand. After much careful positioning and adjustment of the measurement tools the spectators’ patience was rewarded – the closer bowl was indicated and it was Sal’s. We therefore congratulate her on becoming this year’s Ladies’ Singles Champion.